Key figures as stated by the manufacturer
2 of 6 stated · 4 gapsDiscontinued- Weight 3kg6.61lbOur conversion from 3 kg. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A
- Payload, walking not stated
- Runtime approximately 30minWarning: load condition not statedA
- Max speed not stated
- IP rating not stated
- Indicative price not stated
Deviations and variants in the key figures (2)
Weight
NoteManufacturer-stated total weight of the platform (Platform Specifications summary).
Runtime
CaveatApproximate continuous operation time on internal batteries before recharging; no additional payload specified.
Intended use, per the manufacturer
The manufacturer’s words
LittleDog was designed to explore the fundamental relationships among motor learning, dynamic control, perception of the environment, and rough terrain locomotion.
Source: cs.cmu.edu · Retrieved
This category is not our assessment.
Every field in the schema
12 of 33 fields statedImperial figures are our own conversion unless the manufacturer states an imperial figure itself. The source letter always belongs to the metric figure — a conversion has no source of its own.
| Field | Value | Source and caveats |
|---|---|---|
| Physical | ||
| Weight | 3kg6.61lbOur conversion from 3 kg. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own. | A NoteManufacturer-stated total weight of the platform (Platform Specifications summary). |
| Length | 34cm13.4inOur conversion from 34 cm. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own. | A CaveatOverall body length from the Platform Specifications summary. A separate, more detailed body-parameters table in the same manual gives a narrower core body length of 304 mm — likely excluding the carrying handle/antenna overhang. |
| Width | 18cm7.09inOur conversion from 18 cm. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own. | A NoteOverall body width including hip mounts (matches the bracketed 180 mm figure in the detailed body-parameters table, i.e. body plus hips). |
| Height | 14.3cm5.63inOur conversion from 14.3 cm. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own. | A NoteOverall body height. |
| Degrees of freedom | 12DoF | A NoteTwelve actuated degrees of freedom, three per leg (hip RX, hip RY, knee RY), each driven by an electric motor with a position-sensing encoder. |
| Payload, walking | not stated | |
| Payload, standing | not stated | |
| Max speed | not stated | |
| Max slope | not stated | |
| Single obstacle | not stated | |
| Stair step, continuous | not stated | |
| IP rating | not stated | |
| Operating temperature, low | not stated | |
| Operating temperature, high | not stated | |
| Power | ||
| Battery | 31.1Wh | A CaveatCalculated from the manufacturer-stated 2.1 Ah battery capacity at 14.8 V (4 LiPol cells in series); Boston Dynamics does not state a Wh figure directly (2.1 Ah x 14.8 V = 31.08 Wh). |
| Runtime | approximately 30minWarning: load condition not stated | A CaveatApproximate continuous operation time on internal batteries before recharging; no additional payload specified. |
| Hot-swap battery | not stated | |
| Charge time | not stated | |
| Docking station | not stated | |
| Sensing and autonomy | ||
| LiDAR | not stated | |
| Cameras | no | A CaveatThe manual's exhaustive electrical-overview list of onboard I/O (power, IMU, proximity sensor) does not include any camera; visual tracking of the robot's pose was instead handled externally by a room-based Vicon motion-capture rig, not an onboard camera. |
| Onboard compute | x86 architecture, 266 MHz CPU with 128 MB RAM; onboard 802.11b wireless Ethernet | A NoteOnboard embedded PC handling sensing, joint servo control and wireless communication with the host computer. |
| ROS 2 | no | A CaveatRobot Operating System 2 did not exist when this 2006 platform was built; control runs through a proprietary Boston Dynamics C++ API instead. |
| SDK languages | C++ | A NoteUser control programs are written in C++ against the proprietary LittleDog API. |
| Autonomy level | No built-in autonomous behavior; a bare research platform for user-supplied control software (motor learning, dynamic control, rough-terrain locomotion algorithms) run on an external host computer. | A NoteDesigned as a common experimental platform for comparing algorithms across research teams, not a finished autonomous product. |
| Payload and expansion | ||
| Mounting interface | not stated | |
| Power out | not stated | |
| Data ports | RS232 USB Analog/Digital I/O VGA Keyboard Ethernet | A CaveatPorts listed are on the Host computer's CPU board, not on the robot body itself, which communicates only via 802.11b wireless. |
| Commercial | ||
| Indicative price | not stated | |
| EU | ||
| CE stated | not stated | Records only what the manufacturer states regarding CE marking. |
| FCC stated | not stated | |
| UL stated | not stated | |
| CCC stated | not stated | |
Stair step and payload each exist in two variants. Only compare fields with the same label.
Notes
- A small four-legged robot built for DARPA's Learning Locomotion program, used by university teams including Stanford, CMU, USC and MIT from about 2006 to 2010.
- About a dozen identical units, each with a common software API and a motion-capture rig, were distributed to research teams so results could be compared directly.
The manufacturer’s own page
The manufacturer’s original product page for this model.
Open the manufacturer’s page for LittleDoghttp://www.cs.cmu.edu/~cga/bdi/LittleDog_User_Guide_V1.0.0.pdf
Sources
- A Manufacturer product page. www.cs.cmu.edu/~cga/bdi/LittleDog_User_Guide_V1.0.0.pdf · Retrieved
One line per source, not per figure: a source has one retrieval date. The letter beside a figure points to the line it came from.