EPFL Biorobotics LaboratorySwitzerland2013
Cheetah-Cub
- Discontinued
- Under 20 kg
- Research and development
Key figures as stated by the manufacturer
2 of 6 stated · 4 gapsDiscontinued- Weight 1.1kg2.43lbOur conversion from 1.1 kg. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A
- Payload, walking not stated
- Runtime not stated
- Max speed 2.124km/h1.32mphOur conversion from 2.124 km/h. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.B
- IP rating not stated
- Indicative price not stated
Deviations and variants in the key figures (2)
Weight
NoteTotal weight of the robot.
Max speed
CaveatTrotting speed from the original 2013 gait-learning experiments (secondary source: IEEE Spectrum, quoting the research team). EPFL's own page reports a later, faster variant at ~6.9 body lengths/s, but does not give an m/s figure - see notes.
Intended use, per the manufacturer
The manufacturer’s words
Light, fast, robust and affordable feline-inspired platform for locomotion research
Source: epfl.ch · Retrieved
This category is not our assessment.
Every field in the schema
5 of 33 fields statedImperial figures are our own conversion unless the manufacturer states an imperial figure itself. The source letter always belongs to the metric figure — a conversion has no source of its own.
| Field | Value | Source and caveats |
|---|---|---|
| Physical | ||
| Weight | 1.1kg2.43lbOur conversion from 1.1 kg. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own. | A NoteTotal weight of the robot. |
| Length | not stated | |
| Width | not stated | |
| Height | not stated | |
| Degrees of freedom | 8DoF | A Note8 servo motors total (2 actuated joints per leg x 4 legs) driving spring-loaded pantograph legs. |
| Payload, walking | not stated | |
| Payload, standing | not stated | |
| Max speed | 2.124km/h1.32mphOur conversion from 2.124 km/h. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own. | B CaveatTrotting speed from the original 2013 gait-learning experiments (secondary source: IEEE Spectrum, quoting the research team). EPFL's own page reports a later, faster variant at ~6.9 body lengths/s, but does not give an m/s figure - see notes. |
| Max slope | not stated | |
| Single obstacle | not stated | |
| Stair step, continuous | not stated | |
| IP rating | not stated | |
| Operating temperature, low | not stated | |
| Operating temperature, high | not stated | |
| Power | ||
| Battery | not stated | |
| Runtime | not stated | |
| Hot-swap battery | not stated | |
| Charge time | not stated | |
| Docking station | not stated | |
| Sensing and autonomy | ||
| LiDAR | not stated | |
| Cameras | not stated | |
| Onboard compute | RB110 control board running Linux | A NoteRuns a pre-defined CPG network as open-loop control; no onboard sensors are used. |
| ROS 2 | not stated | |
| SDK languages | not stated | |
| Autonomy level | Open-loop CPG-based gait control; no onboard sensors used during locomotion | A CaveatPre-defined central pattern generator network, open loop, no sensor feedback. |
| Payload and expansion | ||
| Mounting interface | not stated | |
| Power out | not stated | |
| Data ports | not stated | |
| Commercial | ||
| Indicative price | not stated | |
| EU | ||
| CE stated | not stated | Records only what the manufacturer states regarding CE marking. |
| FCC stated | not stated | |
| UL stated | not stated | |
| CCC stated | not stated | |
Stair step and payload each exist in two variants. Only compare fields with the same label.
Notes
- A compact research quadruped from EPFL's Biorobotics Lab; its walk and trot gaits were learned from horse motion-capture data. Galloping failed since its trunk is rigid, unlike a cat's spine.
- A later enhanced variant is reported by EPFL as the fastest robot in its weight class (under 30 kg), reaching about 6.9 body lengths per second.
The manufacturer’s own page
The manufacturer’s original product page for this model.
Open the manufacturer’s page for Cheetah-Cubhttps://www.epfl.ch/labs/biorob/research/quadruped/quadruped-past/cheetah-cub-2/
Sources
- A Manufacturer product page. www.epfl.ch/labs/biorob/research/quadruped/quadruped-past/cheetah-cub-2/ · Retrieved
- B Secondary: spectrum.ieee.org/epfl-iit-cheetah-cub-quadruped-kmps · Retrieved
One line per source, not per figure: a source has one retrieval date. The letter beside a figure points to the line it came from.