Skip to content

Back to the catalogue

Boston DynamicsUnited States2020

Spot

  • In production
  • 20–40 kg
  • Industry
  • Inspection

Key figures as stated by the manufacturer

5 of 6 stated · 1 gap
  • Weight 33.8kg74.5 lb74.5lbThe manufacturer’s own imperial figure.A
  • Payload, walking 14kg30.9 lb30.9lbThe manufacturer’s own imperial figure.A
  • Runtime 90minWarning: load condition not statedA
  • Max speed 5.76km/h3.58mphOur conversion from 5.76 km/h. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A
  • IP rating IP54A
  • Indicative price not stated
Deviations and variants in the key figures (3)

Weight

CaveatThe manufacturer's own datasheet states 32.7 kg (72.1 lbs) - https://bostondynamics.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/spot-specifications.pdf. Both figures are internally consistent metric/imperial; neither can be dismissed. The difference is 1.1 kg.

Payload, walking

CaveatThe manufacturer states 'PAYLOAD MOUNTING / Max Weight' and does NOT distinguish walking from standing payload. Placement under walking payload is our interpretation, not a direct reading. The datasheet's body text states the same figure as 'up to 14 kg (30 lbs)' - 30 vs 30.9 lbs in the same document.

Runtime

CaveatThe manufacturer's footnote: "Runtime may vary depending on payloads and environmental factors.". Standby is disclosed as 180 min.

Spot

Manufacturer's own photo.

Intended use, per the manufacturer

The manufacturer’s words

Our agile mobile robot for dynamic sensing and industrial inspection

Source: bostondynamics.com · Retrieved

The manufacturer's own product navigation, the text under the 'Spot' item. The page's solutions menu splits into 'Inspection' and 'Safety & Response'.

This category is not our assessment.

Every field in the schema

22 of 33 fields stated

Imperial figures are our own conversion unless the manufacturer states an imperial figure itself. The source letter always belongs to the metric figure — a conversion has no source of its own.

The letter points to the source at the foot of the page. Fields without a figure are dashed: the manufacturer does not state them — that is not the same as zero, and not the same as no.
Field Value Source and caveats
Physical
Weight33.8kg74.5 lb74.5lbThe manufacturer’s own imperial figure.A

CaveatThe manufacturer's own datasheet states 32.7 kg (72.1 lbs) - https://bostondynamics.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/spot-specifications.pdf. Both figures are internally consistent metric/imperial; neither can be dismissed. The difference is 1.1 kg.

Length110cm43.3 in43.3inThe manufacturer’s own imperial figure.B

CaveatThe product page states 110mm (43.3 in) - a factor of 10 off from its own imperial figure. The datasheet states 1100 mm (43.3 in). We do not correct the product page; we use the datasheet and note the discrepancy.

Width50cm19.7 in19.7inThe manufacturer’s own imperial figure.A
Height61cm24 in24inThe manufacturer’s own imperial figure.A

NoteFour heights are given: sitting 191 mm, default walking 610 mm, max 700 mm, min 520 mm. The default walking figure is used here.

Degrees of freedomnot stated
Payload, walking14kg30.9 lb30.9lbThe manufacturer’s own imperial figure.A

CaveatThe manufacturer states 'PAYLOAD MOUNTING / Max Weight' and does NOT distinguish walking from standing payload. Placement under walking payload is our interpretation, not a direct reading. The datasheet's body text states the same figure as 'up to 14 kg (30 lbs)' - 30 vs 30.9 lbs in the same document.

Payload, standingnot stated
Max speed5.76km/h3.58mphOur conversion from 5.76 km/h. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A
Max slopeplus/minus 30°A

NoteThe plus/minus sign is the manufacturer's own notation.

Single obstacle30cm11.8 in11.8inThe manufacturer’s own imperial figure.A

CaveatThe manufacturer states 'Max Step Height' without saying whether it is a single obstacle or continuous stair-climbing. Placement here is conservative. DATAMODEL.md F2 compared the figure with Unitree's continuous 20-25 cm; that comparison rests on an interpretation the source does not support.

Stair step, continuousnot stated
IP ratingIP54A
Operating temperature, low-20°C-4°FOur conversion from -20 °C. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A

NoteThe datasheet adds: "Robot must be powered on at a minimum temperature of 0° C.".

Operating temperature, high55°C131°FOur conversion from 55 °C. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A
Power
Battery564WhA

NoteThe battery itself weighs 5.2 kg (11.5 lbs).

Runtime90minWarning: load condition not statedA

CaveatThe manufacturer's footnote: "Runtime may vary depending on payloads and environmental factors.". Standby is disclosed as 180 min.

Hot-swap batterynot stated
Charge time60minA

CaveatThe datasheet's own charger table says something different: at 25°C, 50 min to 80% and 2 hrs to 100%; at 35°C, 2.5 hrs / 3.5 hrs. The 60 min figure is not conditioned on the product page.

Docking stationyesB

NoteSpot Dock, fully specified: 1140 x 414 x 403 mm, 22.9 kg, input 90-277 VAC, output 58 V at 12 A, 0-35°C, cTUVus certified to UL 1564 and CSA C22.2 No. 107.2. The dock's Gigabit Ethernet passthrough belongs here, not in the robot's own data ports.

Sensing and autonomy
LiDARnot stated
Camerasstereo cameras (count and model not disclosed); horizontal field of view 360°B

NoteThe string 'built-in stereo cameras' appears ONLY in the datasheet (marketing prose, not the specification table;); 'Horizontal Field of View 360°' is on the product page. Terrain sensing: 360°, range 4 m, lighting > 2 lux.

Onboard computenot stated
ROS 2not stated
SDK languagesPythonB

NoteThe manufacturer states 'Flexible API and Python SDK'.

Autonomy levelManual & Autonomous Operation; Object Avoidance; Stair & Complex Terrain Navigation; autonomous missions started from dockB

NoteQualitative, not a level on a scale. The three quoted strings appear ONLY in the datasheet; the product page supports the substance in other words.

Payload and expansion
Mounting interfaceM5 T-slot railsA

NoteMounting area 850 mm (L) x 240 mm (W) x 270 mm (H).

Power outUnregulated DC 35-58.8V, 150W per port 35–58.8VA
Data portsDB25 x2 Ethernet WiFi 2,4/5 GHz b/g/nA

NoteThe string 'Gigabit' does not appear on the product page, and in the datasheet it is in the Spot Dock section as passthrough to the robot, not about the robot itself. The robot's own CONNECTIVITY is WiFi + Ethernet without a speed figure.

Commercial
Indicative pricenot stated
EU
CE statednot statedB

NoteThe datasheet's section is verbatim titled 'Safety and Compliance, United States' and names ISO 12100, IEC 60204-1, ISO 13850, FCC Part 15B, FCC Part 68, IEC 60825-1. No CE, no EU declaration. The field is not disclosed - NOT no: the datasheet refers to an Information for Use document we have not opened.

Records only what the manufacturer states regarding CE marking.

FCC statedyesB

NoteThe datasheet's 'Safety and Compliance, United States' section (page 2) states 'EMC: FCC Part 15B' and 'Radio equipment: Incorporates a FCC Part 68 Certified radio system', in the same section as the robot's Emergency Stop (ISO 13850) and laser class (IEC 60825-1) - the section describes the robot itself, not only Spot Dock. This field means DISCLOSED - not that we have seen a certificate.

UL statednot stated
CCC statednot stated

Stair step and payload each exist in two variants. Only compare fields with the same label.

Notes

  • The home city is not disclosed: the string "Waltham", often attributed to the manufacturer, appears 0 times in the manufacturer's own product page and datasheet.
  • Boston Dynamics is majority-owned by Hyundai Motor Group (South Korea), which is why the robot's country of manufacture is not simple to state.

The manufacturer’s own page

The manufacturer’s original product page for this model.

Open the manufacturer’s page for Spot

https://bostondynamics.com/products/spot/

See every model from Boston Dynamics

Sources

One line per source, not per figure: a source has one retrieval date. The letter beside a figure points to the line it came from.