Skip to content

Back to the catalogue

EPFL Biorobotics LaboratorySwitzerland2018

Oncilla

  • Discontinued
  • Under 20 kg
  • Research and development

Key figures as stated by the manufacturer

3 of 6 stated · 3 gapsDiscontinued
  • Weight 5.1kg11.2lbOur conversion from 5.1 kg. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A
  • Payload, walking not stated
  • Runtime at most 30minWarning: load condition not statedA
  • Max speed at most 2.268km/hat most 1.41mphOur conversion from 2.268 km/h. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A
  • IP rating not stated
  • Indicative price not stated
Deviations and variants in the key figures (3)

Weight

NoteTotal weight including the 4,500 mAh LiPo battery pack (4.5 kg without it).

Runtime

CaveatTether-free operation, up to 30 minutes. Load condition not specified.

Max speed

NoteMaximum forward trotting speed observed.

No usable photograph. Length 40 cm, Height 31 cm.

Intended use, per the manufacturer

The manufacturer’s words

A versatile open-source quadruped research robot with compliant pantograph legs

Source: frontiersin.org · Retrieved

This category is not our assessment.

Every field in the schema

10 of 33 fields stated

Imperial figures are our own conversion unless the manufacturer states an imperial figure itself. The source letter always belongs to the metric figure — a conversion has no source of its own.

The letter points to the source at the foot of the page. Fields without a figure are dashed: the manufacturer does not state them — that is not the same as zero, and not the same as no.
Field Value Source and caveats
Physical
Weight5.1kg11.2lbOur conversion from 5.1 kg. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A

NoteTotal weight including the 4,500 mAh LiPo battery pack (4.5 kg without it).

Length40cm15.7inOur conversion from 40 cm. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A

NoteOverall length, stated as 0.4 m in the source; converted to mm.

Width25cm9.84inOur conversion from 25 cm. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A

NoteOverall width, stated as 0.25 m in the source; converted to mm.

Height31cm12.2inOur conversion from 31 cm. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A

NoteOverall height, stated as 0.31 m in the source; converted to mm.

Degrees of freedom12DoFA

Note3 active DOF per leg (leg angle, leg length, adduction/abduction) x 4 legs.

Payload, walkingnot stated
Payload, standingnot stated
Max speedat most 2.268km/hat most 1.41mphOur conversion from 2.268 km/h. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A

NoteMaximum forward trotting speed observed.

Max slopeat most 10°A

NoteMaximum inclined slope the robot can trot on.

Single obstaclenot stated
Stair step, continuousnot stated
IP ratingnot stated
Operating temperature, lownot stated
Operating temperature, highnot stated
Power
Batterynot stated
Runtimeat most 30minWarning: load condition not statedA

CaveatTether-free operation, up to 30 minutes. Load condition not specified.

Hot-swap batterynot stated
Charge timenot stated
Docking stationnot stated
Sensing and autonomy
LiDARnot stated
Camerasnot stated
Onboard computenot stated
ROS 2not stated
SDK languagesC++ Java Python Common LispA

NoteLocal C++ interface plus a remote middleware (RSB) offering bindings in all four languages.

Autonomy levelCentral Pattern Generator (CPG)-based gait control, open-source robot APIA

NoteLocomotion generated via morphed-oscillator central pattern generators.

Payload and expansion
Mounting interfacenot stated
Power outnot stated
Data portsnot stated
Commercial
Indicative pricenot stated
EU
CE statednot stated

Records only what the manufacturer states regarding CE marking.

FCC statednot stated
UL statednot stated
CCC statednot stated

Stair step and payload each exist in two variants. Only compare fields with the same label.

Notes

  • An open-source research platform from EPFL's Biorobotics Lab, built under the EU's AMARSi project, using spring-loaded pantograph legs with a hip abduction mechanism.
  • Fully open hardware and software, with a three-layer API supporting C++, Python, Java and Common Lisp, and a shared interface to the Webots simulator.

The manufacturer’s own page

The manufacturer’s original product page for this model.

Open the manufacturer’s page for Oncilla

https://www.frontiersin.org/journals/robotics-and-ai/articles/10.3389/frobt.2018.00067/full

See every model from EPFL Biorobotics Laboratory

Sources

One line per source, not per figure: a source has one retrieval date. The letter beside a figure points to the line it came from.