Key figures as stated by the manufacturer
3 of 6 stated · 3 gapsDiscontinued- Weight 75kg165lbOur conversion from 75 kg. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A
- Payload, walking 45kg99.2lbOur conversion from 45 kg. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A
- Runtime 45minWarning: at load 23 kgA
- Max speed not stated
- IP rating not stated
- Indicative price not stated
Deviations and variants in the key figures (2)
Payload, walking
NoteThe stat box gives one undivided "Payload: 45 kg" figure, not split by walking/standing - placement under walking payload is this catalog's standard inference for undivided figures. The body text separately states "It carries a 23 kg payload and operates for 45 minutes on a battery charge" - read as the load condition tied to the runtime figure (see runtime.load_value), not a competing payload spec, since it is paired with a duration in the same sentence.
Runtime
NoteSingle sentence ties both figures together: carries 23 kg, operates 45 minutes on a battery charge. No unloaded runtime figure is given anywhere on the page.
Manufacturer's own photo.
Intended use, per the manufacturer
The manufacturer’s words
Spot Classic laid the groundwork for the agility and compactness seen in Spot today. Quadrupedal movement. Indoor and outdoor operation. Boston Dynamics’ first fully electric robot.
Source: bostondynamics.com · Retrieved
This category is not our assessment.
Every field in the schema
6 of 33 fields statedImperial figures are our own conversion unless the manufacturer states an imperial figure itself. The source letter always belongs to the metric figure — a conversion has no source of its own.
| Field | Value | Source and caveats |
|---|---|---|
| Physical | ||
| Weight | 75kg165lbOur conversion from 75 kg. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own. | A |
| Length | not stated | |
| Width | not stated | |
| Height | 94cm37inOur conversion from 94 cm. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own. | A |
| Degrees of freedom | 12DoF | A NoteThe page does not say "degrees of freedom" - it labels this stat "Joints: 12". Equated with degrees of freedom, same interpretation this catalog uses elsewhere for Boston Dynamics and Unitree pages that only disclose a joint/actuator count. |
| Payload, walking | 45kg99.2lbOur conversion from 45 kg. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own. | A NoteThe stat box gives one undivided "Payload: 45 kg" figure, not split by walking/standing - placement under walking payload is this catalog's standard inference for undivided figures. The body text separately states "It carries a 23 kg payload and operates for 45 minutes on a battery charge" - read as the load condition tied to the runtime figure (see runtime.load_value), not a competing payload spec, since it is paired with a duration in the same sentence. |
| Payload, standing | not stated | |
| Max speed | not stated | |
| Max slope | not stated | |
| Single obstacle | not stated | |
| Stair step, continuous | not stated | |
| IP rating | not stated | |
| Operating temperature, low | not stated | |
| Operating temperature, high | not stated | |
| Power | ||
| Battery | not stated | |
| Runtime | 45minWarning: at load 23 kg | A NoteSingle sentence ties both figures together: carries 23 kg, operates 45 minutes on a battery charge. No unloaded runtime figure is given anywhere on the page. |
| Hot-swap battery | not stated | |
| Charge time | not stated | |
| Docking station | not stated | |
| Sensing and autonomy | ||
| LiDAR | 360-degree scanning LiDAR + stereo vision | A NoteNo brand/model disclosed - only the sensing modality, from the stat box plus the About text. |
| Cameras | not stated | |
| Onboard compute | not stated | |
| ROS 2 | not stated | |
| SDK languages | not stated | |
| Autonomy level | not stated | |
| Payload and expansion | ||
| Mounting interface | not stated | |
| Power out | not stated | |
| Data ports | not stated | |
| Commercial | ||
| Indicative price | not stated | |
| EU | ||
| CE stated | not stated | Records only what the manufacturer states regarding CE marking. |
| FCC stated | not stated | |
| UL stated | not stated | |
| CCC stated | not stated | |
Stair step and payload each exist in two variants. Only compare fields with the same label.
Notes
- Built by Boston Dynamics in 2015 as the company's first fully electric legged robot.
- Operated indoors and outdoors to lay the architectural and software groundwork for the commercial Spot quadruped.
The manufacturer’s own page
The manufacturer’s original product page for this model.
Open the manufacturer’s page for Spot Classichttps://web.archive.org/web/20171020023600/https://www.bostondynamics.com/spot
Sources
- A Manufacturer product page. web.archive.org/web/20171020023600/https://www.bostondynamics.com/spot · Retrieved
- B bostondynamics.com/legacy/ · Retrieved
One line per source, not per figure: a source has one retrieval date. The letter beside a figure points to the line it came from.