Skip to content

Back to the catalogue

U.S. Army Research LaboratoryUnited States2018

LLAMA

  • Discontinued
  • Over 40 kg
  • Research and development
  • Defence and emergency response

Key figures as stated by the manufacturer

2 of 6 stated · 4 gapsDiscontinued
  • Weight 70kg154lbOur conversion from 70 kg. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A
  • Payload, walking not stated
  • Runtime not stated
  • Max speed at most 6.48km/hat most 4.03mphOur conversion from 6.48 km/h. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A
  • IP rating not stated
  • Indicative price not stated
Deviations and variants in the key figures (2)

Weight

CaveatNASA JPL states 70 kg. The associated IEEE paper describes both hardware iterations together as 'human-scale (~75 kg)', a rounder approximate figure covering both versions.

Max speed

NoteMatches the IEEE paper's reported hierarchical control scheme enabling motions up to 1.8 m/s over varied terrain.

No usable photograph. Length 100 cm, Height not stated.

Intended use, per the manufacturer

The manufacturer’s words

Rough, uneven terrain navigation; first responder support; security and disaster response operations

Source: jpl.nasa.gov · Retrieved

This category is not our assessment.

Every field in the schema

6 of 33 fields stated

Imperial figures are our own conversion unless the manufacturer states an imperial figure itself. The source letter always belongs to the metric figure — a conversion has no source of its own.

The letter points to the source at the foot of the page. Fields without a figure are dashed: the manufacturer does not state them — that is not the same as zero, and not the same as no.
Field Value Source and caveats
Physical
Weight70kg154lbOur conversion from 70 kg. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A

CaveatNASA JPL states 70 kg. The associated IEEE paper describes both hardware iterations together as 'human-scale (~75 kg)', a rounder approximate figure covering both versions.

Length100cm39.4inOur conversion from 100 cm. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A

NoteOverall body length.

Widthnot stated
Heightnot stated
Degrees of freedom12DoFB

CaveatCustom quasi-direct-drive actuators power 3-DOF, serial-parallel legs (3 x 4 legs = 12 total). LOWER CONFIDENCE than the JPL-sourced fields above: this figure was read from a search-engine excerpt of the paywalled IEEE Xplore page, not from a directly fetched and re-read page.

Payload, walkingnot stated
Payload, standingnot stated
Max speedat most 6.48km/hat most 4.03mphOur conversion from 6.48 km/h. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A

NoteMatches the IEEE paper's reported hierarchical control scheme enabling motions up to 1.8 m/s over varied terrain.

Max slopenot stated
Single obstaclenot stated
Stair step, continuousnot stated
IP ratingnot stated
Operating temperature, lownot stated
Operating temperature, highnot stated
Power
Batterynot stated
Runtimenot stated
Hot-swap batterynot stated
Charge timenot stated
Docking stationnot stated
Sensing and autonomy
LiDAROnboard LiDAR for terrain sensing and foothold/footstep planningC

NoteUsed by IHMC's planning and control software to identify safe footholds on rough terrain.

Camerasnot stated
Onboard computenot stated
ROS 2not stated
SDK languagesnot stated
Autonomy levelInnovative perception, planning and control software (developed by IHMC under ARL's RCTA program) aimed at precise navigation of technical obstacles while remaining robust enough to reject disturbances and recover from unexpected errors, so the robot can keep pace with a human squad over rough terrain.C

NoteBalances speed and load capacity in one mechanical design rather than trading one off for the other.

Payload and expansion
Mounting interfacenot stated
Power outnot stated
Data portsnot stated
Commercial
Indicative pricenot stated
EU
CE statednot stated

Records only what the manufacturer states regarding CE marking.

FCC statednot stated
UL statednot stated
CCC statednot stated

Stair step and payload each exist in two variants. Only compare fields with the same label.

Notes

  • LLAMA is a human-scale, all-electric quadruped built under the U.S. Army Research Laboratory's RCTA program, with NASA JPL (hardware) and IHMC (software).
  • Uses custom quasi-direct-drive actuators on 3-DOF serial-parallel legs — described as the first all-electric quadruped at this scale, built to keep pace with a dismounted infantry squad.

The manufacturer’s own page

The manufacturer’s original product page for this model.

Open the manufacturer’s page for LLAMA

https://www.jpl.nasa.gov/robotics-at-jpl/llama/

See every model from U.S. Army Research Laboratory

Sources

One line per source, not per figure: a source has one retrieval date. The letter beside a figure points to the line it came from.