KAIST Dynamic Robot Control and Design LaboratorySouth Korea2023
HOUND
- Demonstrator
- Over 40 kg
- Research and development
Key figures as stated by the manufacturer
2 of 6 stated · 4 gapsDemonstrator- Weight 45kg99.2lbOur conversion from 45 kg. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A
- Payload, walking not stated
- Runtime not stated
- Max speed 23.4km/h14.5mphOur conversion from 23.4 km/h. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own.A
- IP rating not stated
- Indicative price not stated
Deviations and variants in the key figures (2)
Weight
NoteTotal system weight of 45 kg including onboard battery pack and computing units.
Max speed
CaveatMaximum demonstrated treadmill running velocity is 6.5 m/s (23.4 km/h); outdoor 100m sprint record averaged 5.03 m/s (19.87 s).
Manufacturer's own photo.
Intended use, per the manufacturer
The manufacturer’s words
Developed for agile locomotion research and high-speed robotic sprint benchmarking using reinforcement learning.
Source: news.kaist.ac.kr · Retrieved
This category is not our assessment.
Every field in the schema
5 of 33 fields statedImperial figures are our own conversion unless the manufacturer states an imperial figure itself. The source letter always belongs to the metric figure — a conversion has no source of its own.
| Field | Value | Source and caveats |
|---|---|---|
| Physical | ||
| Weight | 45kg99.2lbOur conversion from 45 kg. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own. | A NoteTotal system weight of 45 kg including onboard battery pack and computing units. |
| Length | not stated | |
| Width | not stated | |
| Height | not stated | |
| Degrees of freedom | 12DoF | A Note12 degrees of freedom with 3 actuators per leg. |
| Payload, walking | not stated | |
| Payload, standing | not stated | |
| Max speed | 23.4km/h14.5mphOur conversion from 23.4 km/h. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own. | A CaveatMaximum demonstrated treadmill running velocity is 6.5 m/s (23.4 km/h); outdoor 100m sprint record averaged 5.03 m/s (19.87 s). |
| Max slope | 22° | A NoteDemonstrated slope climbing capability of 22 degrees. |
| Single obstacle | 35cm13.8inOur conversion from 35 cm. The manufacturer does not state an imperial figure itself, so the conversion has no source of its own. | A NoteTraversed 35 cm obstacle during dynamic obstacle testing. |
| Stair step, continuous | not stated | |
| IP rating | not stated | |
| Operating temperature, low | not stated | |
| Operating temperature, high | not stated | |
| Power | ||
| Battery | not stated | |
| Runtime | not stated | |
| Hot-swap battery | not stated | |
| Charge time | not stated | |
| Docking station | not stated | |
| Sensing and autonomy | ||
| LiDAR | not stated | |
| Cameras | not stated | |
| Onboard compute | not stated | |
| ROS 2 | not stated | |
| SDK languages | not stated | |
| Autonomy level | not stated | |
| Payload and expansion | ||
| Mounting interface | not stated | |
| Power out | not stated | |
| Data ports | not stated | |
| Commercial | ||
| Indicative price | not stated | |
| EU | ||
| CE stated | not stated | Records only what the manufacturer states regarding CE marking. |
| FCC stated | not stated | |
| UL stated | not stated | |
| CCC stated | not stated | |
Stair step and payload each exist in two variants. Only compare fields with the same label.
Notes
- A high-speed quadrupedal research robot from KAIST's Dynamic Robot Control and Design Laboratory.
- Set the Guinness World Record for fastest 100-meter sprint by a quadruped robot on 26 October 2023, at 19.87 seconds.
The manufacturer’s own page
The manufacturer’s original product page for this model.
Open the manufacturer’s page for HOUNDhttps://news.kaist.ac.kr/news/html/news/?mode=V&mng_no=29290
See every model from KAIST Dynamic Robot Control and Design Laboratory
Sources
- A Manufacturer product page. news.kaist.ac.kr/news/html/news/?mode=V&mng_no=29290 · Retrieved
One line per source, not per figure: a source has one retrieval date. The letter beside a figure points to the line it came from.