Skip to content

Back to the AI models

Alibaba DAMO AcademyChina2026

RynnBrain

An AI model: a vision-language-action model (VLA) takes camera images and an instruction and turns them into movements for a robot. This page describes the software, not a robot.

Robotsnot stated

VersionsRynnBrain 1.0 2026-02-09RynnBrain 1.1 2026-07-16

The developer has released this model in several versions. Each figure applies to the version its source names.

Key figures as stated by the developer

4 of 6 stated · 2 gaps
  • Model type ⁠B embodied reasoning
  • Controls not stated
  • Inputs ⁠A camera language
  • Access ⁠A open download
  • Parameters not stated
  • Base model ⁠D Qwen3.5
How to read the figures
14kgA30.9lbA
The letter in the grey square after a figure points to the source the figure came from. Robots with several sources carry several letters.
74.5lb
Imperial figures are our own conversion unless the manufacturer states an imperial figure itself. The source letter always belongs to the metric figure — a conversion has no source of its own.
Versions and notes in the key figures (6)

Model type

Developer wording: "specializing in diverse, fine-grained embodied reasoning and complex planning tasks".

Controls

Note RynnBrain 1.1 README: "It encodes omni-vision inputs with language instructions and produces aligned outputs — text, pointing sequences, 3D perception, and contact signals".

Inputs

RynnBrain 1.1 README: "It encodes omni-vision inputs with language instructions and produces aligned outputs — text, pointing sequences, 3D perception, and contact signals".

Access

RynnBrain 1.1 2026-07-16: "Release RynnBrain 1.1 checkpoints (2B / 9B / 122B-A10B)" RynnBrain 1.0 2026-02-09: "Release our code and model checkpoints!!"

Parameters

Note The developer gives one number per size, never one for RynnBrain. RynnBrain 1.1 2026-07-16: "RynnBrain 1.1 is released in three scales: 2B, 9B, and 122B-A10B". RynnBrain 1.0 2026-02-09: "RynnBrain is available in three dense variants (2B, 4B, and 8B) and one mixture-of-experts (MoE) model (30B-A3B)."

Base model

RynnBrain 1.1 2026-07-16: "a large language model (LLM) backbone initialized from Qwen3.5 variants". RynnBrain 1.0 2026-02-09: Qwen3-VL-Instruct models, for example "base_model: Qwen3-VL-8B-Instruct".

Versions

RynnBrain 1.0 2026-02-09
Qwen3-VL-Instruct
RynnBrain 1.1 2026-07-16
Qwen3.5

Full specifications

5 of 12 fields stated
The letter points to the source at the foot of the page. Fields without a figure are dashed: the developer does not state them — that is not the same as zero, and not the same as no.
Field Value Source and caveats
Input and output
Model typeembodied reasoningB

Developer wording: "specializing in diverse, fine-grained embodied reasoning and complex planning tasks".

Inputscamera languageA

RynnBrain 1.1 README: "It encodes omni-vision inputs with language instructions and produces aligned outputs — text, pointing sequences, 3D perception, and contact signals".

Controlsnot stated

Note RynnBrain 1.1 README: "It encodes omni-vision inputs with language instructions and produces aligned outputs — text, pointing sequences, 3D perception, and contact signals". ⁠A

Degrees of freedom controllednot stated
Size and speed
Parametersnot stated

Note The developer gives one number per size, never one for RynnBrain. RynnBrain 1.1 2026-07-16: "RynnBrain 1.1 is released in three scales: 2B, 9B, and 122B-A10B". RynnBrain 1.0 2026-02-09: "RynnBrain is available in three dense variants (2B, 4B, and 8B) and one mixture-of-experts (MoE) model (30B-A3B)." ⁠A

Control ratenot stated
Where it runs and what it is built on
Runs wherenot stated
Base modelQwen3.5D

RynnBrain 1.1 2026-07-16: "a large language model (LLM) backbone initialized from Qwen3.5 variants". RynnBrain 1.0 2026-02-09: Qwen3-VL-Instruct models, for example "base_model: Qwen3-VL-8B-Instruct".

Versions

RynnBrain 1.0 2026-02-09
Qwen3-VL-Instruct
RynnBrain 1.1 2026-07-16
Qwen3.5
Openness
Accessopen downloadA

RynnBrain 1.1 2026-07-16: "Release RynnBrain 1.1 checkpoints (2B / 9B / 122B-A10B)" RynnBrain 1.0 2026-02-09: "Release our code and model checkpoints!!"

LicenseApache 2.0C

RynnBrain 1.1 model card header: "license: apache-2.0". The repository README says "This project is licensed under the Apache License 2.0".

The developer’s own claims
Learns new tasksnot stated
Works across robotsnot stated

Yes only if the developer itself says the model runs on different robot models, for example robots from two manufacturers or two of one manufacturer’s models. Several units of the same robot do not count.

Notes

  • Alibaba DAMO Academy describes RynnBrain as an open-source spatiotemporal foundation model for embodied intelligence.
  • RynnBrain 1.1 is described by its developer as a systematic upgrade of RynnBrain; RynnBrain 1.0 is still published on a separate branch of the repository.
  • RynnBrain 1.0 was released on 9 February 2026 and RynnBrain 1.1 on 16 July 2026.

Sources

One line per source, not per figure: a source has one retrieval date. The letter beside a figure points to the line it came from.