Skip to content

Shanghai AI LaboratoryChina2026

InternVLA-A1

Key figures as stated by the developer

7 of 7 key figures stated
  • Model type ⁠B vision-language-action
  • Controls ⁠A arms and hands
  • Inputs ⁠A camera language robot state
  • Access ⁠B Open weights (download)
  • Parameters ⁠A 3.2B
  • Base model ⁠A Qwen3-VL
  • Licence ⁠B Free, research only

Full specifications

12 of 14 fields stated
The letter points to the source at the foot of the page. Fields without a figure are dashed: the developer does not state them — that is not the same as zero, and not the same as no.
Field Value Source and caveats
Release
Released5 January 2026

[A] "Submitted on 5 Jan 2026" ⁠C

Input and output
Model typevision-language-action

Hugging Face model card tag: "vision-language-action-model". ⁠B

Inputscamera language robot state

Technical report: the multi-view observation "is encoded into visual tokens via the integrated vision encoder, while language instructions" are converted into text tokens. The action expert is conditioned on these features "together with the proprioceptive state". ⁠A

Controlsarms and hands

Technical report: "the action expert predicts a target action chunk". The real-robot tests: "These platforms cover diverse bimanual manipulation capabilities". ⁠A

Degrees of freedom controllednot stated
Size and speed
Parameters3.2B

Technical report, table of the 3B release (the main checkpoint InternVLA-A1-3B): "InternVLA-A1 (3B) 3.2B Qwen3-VL (2.13B)". The 2B scale: "InternVLA-A1 (2B) 1.8B InternVL3 (0.94B)". ⁠A

Control rate13Hz

Model inference speed on one GPU, not motor control: "both InternVLA-A1 (2B) and InternVLA-A1 (3B) run at approximately 13 Hz with torch.compile on one RTX 4090 GPU". ⁠A

Where it runs and what it is built on
On robot or cloudnot stated

Note The report measures speed on a GPU: "both InternVLA-A1 (2B) and InternVLA-A1 (3B) run at approximately 13 Hz with torch.compile on one RTX 4090 GPU". ⁠A

Base modelQwen3-VL

Technical report: the 3B release uses Qwen3-VL as understanding expert ("InternVLA-A1 (3B) 3.2B Qwen3-VL (2.13B)"); the 2B release uses InternVL3. Abstract: "Building upon InternVL3 and Qwen3-VL, we instantiate InternVLA-A1 at 2B and 3B parameter scales." ⁠A

Openness
AccessOpen weights (download)

Hugging Face model card, public repository: "we release the InternVLA-A1 series". ⁠B

Licence termsCC BY-NC-SA 4.0

Model card header: "license: cc-by-nc-sa-4.0". "All the code within this repo are under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0." ⁠B

LicenceFree, research only

Model card header: "license: cc-by-nc-sa-4.0". ⁠B

The developer’s own claims
Learns new tasksneeds retraining

Developer claim: training ends with "a large-scale pre-training stage on heterogeneous datasets, followed by a task-specific post-training stage". ⁠A

Works across robotsyes

Developer claim: "We benchmark the policies on three physical robot embodiments: Agibot Genie-1, ARX Lift-2, and ARX AC One". ⁠A

Yes only if the developer itself says the model runs on different robot models, for example robots from two manufacturers or two of one manufacturer’s models. Several units of the same robot do not count.

How to read the figures
50HzA
The letter in the grey square after a figure points to the source the figure came from. Pages with several sources carry several letters.

Notes

  • The InternVLA-A1 paper is signed Shanghai AI Laboratory.
  • The developers have since published a successor, InternVLA-A1.5, in the same repository.
Versions and notes in the key figures (7)

Model type

Hugging Face model card tag: "vision-language-action-model".

Controls

Technical report: "the action expert predicts a target action chunk". The real-robot tests: "These platforms cover diverse bimanual manipulation capabilities".

Inputs

Technical report: the multi-view observation "is encoded into visual tokens via the integrated vision encoder, while language instructions" are converted into text tokens. The action expert is conditioned on these features "together with the proprioceptive state".

Access

Hugging Face model card, public repository: "we release the InternVLA-A1 series".

Parameters

Technical report, table of the 3B release (the main checkpoint InternVLA-A1-3B): "InternVLA-A1 (3B) 3.2B Qwen3-VL (2.13B)". The 2B scale: "InternVLA-A1 (2B) 1.8B InternVL3 (0.94B)".

Base model

Technical report: the 3B release uses Qwen3-VL as understanding expert ("InternVLA-A1 (3B) 3.2B Qwen3-VL (2.13B)"); the 2B release uses InternVL3. Abstract: "Building upon InternVL3 and Qwen3-VL, we instantiate InternVLA-A1 at 2B and 3B parameter scales."

Licence

Model card header: "license: cc-by-nc-sa-4.0".

Sources

One line per source, not per figure: a source has one retrieval date. The letter beside a figure points to the line it came from.