OpenAIUnited States2026
GPT-6 Astra
An AI model: software that a robot uses to perceive, plan or move. This page describes the software, not a robot.
Robotsnot stated
Key figures as stated by the developer
3 of 6 stated · 3 gaps-
Model type A
general-purpose model - Controls not stated
-
Inputs A
cameralanguage - Access A API only
- Parameters not stated
- Base model not stated
How to read the figures
- 50HzA
- The letter in the grey square after a figure points to the source the figure came from. Pages with several sources carry several letters.
Versions and notes in the key figures (4)
Model type
Developer wording: "GPT-6 Astra is our most capable model for the most demanding work. Use it for complex reasoning, coding, computer use, research, and document creation."
Controls
Note Model page, Modalities: "Text Input and output Image Input only Audio Not supported Video Not supported"
Inputs
Model page, Modalities: "Text Input and output Image Input only Audio Not supported Video Not supported" Image = camera, text = language.
Access
Model page: "GPT-6 Astra Model | OpenAI API"; its endpoints include Chat Completions (v1/chat/completions) and Responses (v1/responses).
Full specifications
3 of 12 fields stated| Field | Value | Source and caveats |
|---|---|---|
| Input and output | ||
| Model type | general-purpose model | A Developer wording: "GPT-6 Astra is our most capable model for the most demanding work. Use it for complex reasoning, coding, computer use, research, and document creation." |
| Inputs | camera language | A Model page, Modalities: "Text Input and output Image Input only Audio Not supported Video Not supported" Image = camera, text = language. |
| Controls | not stated | Note Model page, Modalities: "Text Input and output Image Input only Audio Not supported Video Not supported" A |
| Openness | ||
| Access | API only | A Model page: "GPT-6 Astra Model | OpenAI API"; its endpoints include Chat Completions (v1/chat/completions) and Responses (v1/responses). |
| The developer’s own claims | ||
| Works across robots | not stated | Yes only if the developer itself says the model runs on different robot models, for example robots from two manufacturers or two of one manufacturer’s models. Several units of the same robot do not count. |
Not stated: Degrees of freedom controlled, Parameters, Control rate, Runs where, Base model, License, Learns new tasks
Notes
- OpenAI calls GPT-6 Astra its most capable model for the most demanding work, for complex reasoning, coding, computer use, research and document creation.
- OpenAI published the GPT-6 Astra system card on 3 September 2026.
- OpenAI OpCo, LLC has its registered office in San Francisco.
- Secondary source, not the developer: an independent study (arXiv 2609.31770, Huawei) studies a robot controlled by GPT-6-Astra.
- Secondary source, not the developer: an independent study (RobotWorld, arXiv 2610.10409) evaluates the model on robot tasks.
Sources
-
A
Manufacturer product page. developers.
openai. · Retrievedcom/ api/ docs/ models/ gpt-6-astra
One line per source, not per figure: a source has one retrieval date. The letter beside a figure points to the line it came from.