Skip to content

Back to the AI models

Griffin LabsSingapore2026

Griffin Alpha-S

An AI model: a vision-language-action model (VLA) takes camera images and an instruction and turns them into movements for a robot. This page describes the software, not a robot.

Robotsnot stated

Visit website

griffinlabs.ai

Key figures as stated by the developer

5 of 6 stated · 1 gap
  • Model type ⁠A vision-language-action
  • Controls ⁠B arms and hands
  • Inputs ⁠A camera language robot state
  • Access ⁠B open download
  • Parameters not stated
  • Base model ⁠C Qwen3-VL-4B-Instruct
How to read the figures
50HzA
The letter in the grey square after a figure points to the source the figure came from. Pages with several sources carry several letters.
Versions and notes in the key figures (6)

Model type

Developer wording: "Griffin Alpha-S is a vision-language-action (VLA) model by" Griffin Labs.

Controls

Blog post: "One set of weights supports multiple robots and both joint-space and end-effector actions." "One set of released Griffin Alpha-S weights running CleanBench on bimanual Piper arms."

Inputs

Repository README: "Both predict a 50-step action chunk from up to three camera images, the proprioceptive state, and a language instruction". Proprioceptive state = robot state.

Access

Blog post: "Open-weights release, September 2026"; the weights are downloaded with the lerobot tools.

Parameters

Note Griffin Labs gives one number for one part: "a 910M-parameter flow-matching action expert attached layer-by-layer (mixture-of-transformers) to a Qwen3-VL-4B backbone".

Base model

Model card header: "base_model: Qwen/Qwen3-VL-4B-Instruct".

Full specifications

9 of 13 fields stated
The letter points to the source at the foot of the page. Fields without a figure are dashed: the developer does not state them — that is not the same as zero, and not the same as no.
Field Value Source and caveats
Input and output
Model typevision-language-actionA

Developer wording: "Griffin Alpha-S is a vision-language-action (VLA) model by" Griffin Labs.

Inputscamera language robot stateA

Repository README: "Both predict a 50-step action chunk from up to three camera images, the proprioceptive state, and a language instruction". Proprioceptive state = robot state.

Controlsarms and handsB

Blog post: "One set of weights supports multiple robots and both joint-space and end-effector actions." "One set of released Griffin Alpha-S weights running CleanBench on bimanual Piper arms."

Degrees of freedom controllednot stated

Note Model card: the base uses a "canonical 32-dimensional action vector", with each embodiment's actions in the leading slots; this is the action width, not a count of controlled joints. ⁠C

Size and speed
Parametersnot stated

Note Griffin Labs gives one number for one part: "a 910M-parameter flow-matching action expert attached layer-by-layer (mixture-of-transformers) to a Qwen3-VL-4B backbone". ⁠C

Where it runs and what it is built on
Base modelQwen3-VL-4B-InstructC

Model card header: "base_model: Qwen/Qwen3-VL-4B-Instruct".

Openness
Accessopen downloadB

Blog post: "Open-weights release, September 2026"; the weights are downloaded with the lerobot tools.

LicenseCC BY-NC-SA 4.0C

Model card header for the weights: "license: cc-by-nc-sa-4.0". "The plugin code is Apache-2.0."

Free or paidopen, non-commercial onlyC

Weights licence, model card header: "license: cc-by-nc-sa-4.0".

The developer’s own claims
Learns new tasksneeds retrainingC

Developer claim: the pre-trained base is "meant as the starting point for fine-tuning on your own robot".

Works across robotsyesB

Developer claim: "One set of weights supports multiple robots".

Yes only if the developer itself says the model runs on different robot models, for example robots from two manufacturers or two of one manufacturer’s models. Several units of the same robot do not count.

Not stated: Control rate, On robot or cloud

Notes

  • Griffin Labs calls Griffin Alpha a robot foundation model and releases its open core, Griffin Alpha-S.
  • Griffin Labs published the open weights in September 2026.
  • The Griffin Labs site is signed Griffin Labs Pte. Ltd. and lists its open roles in Singapore.

Sources

One line per source, not per figure: a source has one retrieval date. The letter beside a figure points to the line it came from.