Alibaba QwenChina2026
Qwen-VLA
Full specifications
7 of 14 fields stated| Field | Value | Source and caveats |
|---|---|---|
| Release | ||
| Released | 28 May 2026 | [A] "Submitted on 28 May 2026" C |
| Input and output | ||
| Model type | vision-language-action | Developer wording, GitHub README: "a unified vision-language-action generalist model". B |
| Inputs | camera language | Technical report: camera views are labelled per source, "a head-mounted ego-centric camera alongside one or two wrist-mounted cameras"; the model generalises "to generalise to a broader range of natural-language instructions at inference time". Robot state was tested as an extra input only in an ablation. A |
| Controls | arms and hands | README: "Manipulation, navigation, egocentric action modeling, and trajectory prediction share one action-and-trajectory prediction space." The model also predicts navigation waypoints. B |
| Degrees of freedom controlled | not stated | Note The count differs per robot: "Different robot platforms have different action dimensionalities and semantics". A |
| Size and speed | ||
| Parameters | not stated | Note The developer gives parts, not a total: a Qwen3.5-4B backbone and a "1.15B DiT flow-matching action decoder". B |
| Control rate | not stated | Note The rate is set per robot in the prompt: the prompt values "reflect the dataset’s original control frequency". A |
| Where it runs and what it is built on | ||
| On robot or cloud | not stated | |
| Base model | Qwen3.5-4B (vision-language backbone) | README: Qwen3.5-4B backbone with a "1.15B DiT flow-matching action decoder". B |
| Openness | ||
| Access | not stated | |
| Licence terms | not stated | |
| Licence | not stated | |
| The developer’s own claims | ||
| Learns new tasks | needs retraining | Developer claim: the real-robot results come "by fine-tuning on demonstrations collected through ALOHA across multiple tasks". A |
| Works across robots | yes | Developer claim, README: "One set of weights serves multiple platforms; switching embodiments requires only changing a text prompt." B Yes only if the developer itself says the model runs on different robot models, for example robots from two manufacturers or two of one manufacturer’s models. Several units of the same robot do not count. |
How to read the figures
- 50HzA
- The letter in the grey square after a figure points to the source the figure came from. Pages with several sources carry several letters.
Notes
- The Qwen team describes Qwen-VLA as a unified vision-language-action generalist model.
- The Qwen-VLA technical report was submitted to arXiv on 28 May 2026.
Versions and notes in the key figures (5)
Model type
Developer wording, GitHub README: "a unified vision-language-action generalist model".
Controls
README: "Manipulation, navigation, egocentric action modeling, and trajectory prediction share one action-and-trajectory prediction space." The model also predicts navigation waypoints.
Inputs
Technical report: camera views are labelled per source, "a head-mounted ego-centric camera alongside one or two wrist-mounted cameras"; the model generalises "to generalise to a broader range of natural-language instructions at inference time". Robot state was tested as an extra input only in an ablation.
Parameters
Note The developer gives parts, not a total: a Qwen3.5-4B backbone and a "1.15B DiT flow-matching action decoder".
Base model
README: Qwen3.5-4B backbone with a "1.15B DiT flow-matching action decoder".
Sources
-
A
arxiv.
org/ · Retrievedhtml/ 2605. 30280v2 -
B
github.
com/ · RetrievedQwenLM/ Qwen-VLA -
C
arxiv.
org/ · Retrievedabs/ 2605. 30280
One line per source, not per figure: a source has one retrieval date. The letter beside a figure points to the line it came from.