Skild AIUnited States2026
S1
An AI model: a vision-language-action model (VLA) takes camera images and an instruction and turns them into movements for a robot. This page describes the software, not a robot.
Robotsnot stated
Key figures as stated by the developer
3 of 6 stated · 3 gaps- Model type not stated
-
Controls A
arms and hands -
Inputs A
camera - Access A partners-early access only
- Parameters not stated
- Base model not stated
How to read the figures
- 14kgA30.9lbA
- The letter in the grey square after a figure points to the source the figure came from. Robots with several sources carry several letters.
- 74.5lb
- Imperial figures are our own conversion unless the manufacturer states an imperial figure itself. The source letter always belongs to the metric figure — a conversion has no source of its own.
Versions and notes in the key figures (4)
Model type
Note The developer calls it something else and does not label it vision-language-action or world action model: "our flagship robotic foundation model S1".
Controls
Evaluation placements require the robot to switch arms: "Placement chosen so that half the robot's actions have to be executed with the opposite arm."
Inputs
"Tasks are specified by a video demonstration, not language." "Show it a video of a task, short or long, seen or unseen, and it executes."
Access
Skild's wording: "S1 is already at work with our commercial partners"; "For future updates, early access to S1 and deployment questions, please sign up."
Full specifications
4 of 12 fields stated| Field | Value | Source and caveats |
|---|---|---|
| Input and output | ||
| Model type | not stated | Note The developer calls it something else and does not label it vision-language-action or world action model: "our flagship robotic foundation model S1". A |
| Inputs | camera | A "Tasks are specified by a video demonstration, not language." "Show it a video of a task, short or long, seen or unseen, and it executes." |
| Controls | arms and hands | A Evaluation placements require the robot to switch arms: "Placement chosen so that half the robot's actions have to be executed with the opposite arm." |
| Degrees of freedom controlled | not stated | |
| Size and speed | ||
| Parameters | not stated | |
| Control rate | not stated | |
| Where it runs and what it is built on | ||
| Runs where | not stated | |
| Base model | not stated | |
| Openness | ||
| Access | partners-early access only | A Skild's wording: "S1 is already at work with our commercial partners"; "For future updates, early access to S1 and deployment questions, please sign up." |
| License | not stated | |
| The developer’s own claims | ||
| Learns new tasks | from a few examples | A Developer claim: "S1 translates an in-context video demonstration of the desired task to robot actions." "No fine-tuning, no post-training." |
| Works across robots | not stated | Yes only if the developer itself says the model runs on different robot models, for example robots from two manufacturers or two of one manufacturer’s models. Several units of the same robot do not count. |
Notes
- Country and city from the company registries CB Insights and PitchBook, which agree (141 South Saint Clair Street, Pittsburgh); the developer does not state its location.
- Skild AI says S1 is built from the ground up as an in-context learner.
Sources
-
A
Manufacturer product page. www.
skild. · Retrievedai/ blogs/ s1
One line per source, not per figure: a source has one retrieval date. The letter beside a figure points to the line it came from.