Compare

CSIRO Data61

Magneto

A quadruped robot from Australia, first released 2018.

Sources retrieved: 6 September 2026 (A)

Status
Demonstrator
Applications
IndustryInspection
Indicative price
Not stated
Intended use, per the manufacturer
Magneto represents the next generation of maintenance and inspection robots that can minimise risk and increase safety in the industrial workforce, particularly around confined space entry.

Visit website

CSIRO Magneto, black four-legged climbing robot with magnetic feet and exposed cabling, seen from the side, CSIRO photo

Manufacturer's own photo.

Specifications

1/33 specifications disclosed 32 not stated

Not statedThe manufacturer states nothing about this field.NoStated: the robot does not have this.A marker with an asterisk (*) also carries a caveat.

Select a source marker for source details and notes.

Physical0/14 disclosed

WeightNot stated
LengthNot stated
WidthNot stated
HeightNot stated
Degrees of freedomNot stated
Payload, walkingNot stated
Payload, standingNot stated
Max speedNot stated
Max slopeNot stated
Max obstacle heightNot stated
Max stair height, continuousNot stated
IP ratingNot stated
Operating temperature, lowNot stated
Operating temperature, highNot stated

Power0/5 disclosed

BatteryNot stated
RuntimeNot stated
Hot-swap batteryNot stated
Charge timeNot stated
Docking stationNot stated

Sensing and autonomy1/6 disclosed

LiDARNot stated
CamerasNot stated
Onboard computeNot stated
ROS 2Not stated
SDK languagesNot stated
Autonomy featuresDemonstrated fully autonomous climbing of an unknown structure without human assistance; electromagnetic feet with high degrees of freedom give dexterous foot placement on complex, discontinuous geometry.

Payload and expansion0/3 disclosed

Mounting interfaceNot stated
Power outNot stated
Data portsNot stated

Commercial0/1 disclosed

Indicative priceNot stated

Compliance & certifications0/4 disclosed

CENot stated
FCCNot stated
ULNot stated
CCCNot stated

Notes

A climbing/inspection robot with permanent electromagnetic feet from CSIRO's Data61, first published at IROS 2018; commercialized with Nexxis, and won an award at the 2019 Sprint Robotics Conference.

Sources disagree on its joint count: the original paper describes 3-DOF limbs plus a compliant magnetic foot, while Nexxis' own page separately says 'five degrees of freedom' overall.

Sources

One line per source, not per figure: a source has one retrieval date.

  1. Acsiro.au/en/research/technology-space/robotics/magnetoMain source. Retrieved 6 September 2026

Report an error or send an updated datasheet